The Invisible Guardian: A Thriller (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Invisible Guardian: A Thriller Cover Image
$17.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Set in the Basque Country of Spain, The Invisible Guardian is a captivating debut police procedural. Detective Amaia Salazar is young, obsessive, and just a little bit troubled. In Invisible Guardian, Amaia finds herself back in her hometown, investigating a possible connection in the ritual-style killings of two teenage girls. Confronted with her past and a possible serial killer, Salazar must wrestle with her own demons and the demons of Basque Country to solve the case. Redondo's writing is evocative, humid, mystical. Perfect for fans of True Detective, Ian Rankin, and all the other maverick detectives we know and love. The first in a trilogy, The Invisible Guardian is already a best seller in Europe and will soon be available in 30 languages. 

— Sam

Description


Already a #1 international bestseller, this taut, gripping psychological thriller follows a police inspector who reluctantly returns to her hometown in Spain's Basque Country--a place shrouded in mythology and superstition--to solve a series of eerie murders.

When the body of a teenaged girl is found on a riverbank in a remote area, the crime appears all too similar to a murder committed only months prior, igniting the worst fears of the small community of Elizondo. Homicide inspector Amaia Salazar, a strong, borderline-obsessive investigator, is assigned to the case. After all, this beautiful, peculiar backwater steeped in the blood of the Spanish Inquisition, where pagan beliefs still flourish under a thin veneer of modernity, is a space she knows better than anyone. Forced to return to Elizondo, a town she has always sought to escape, Amaia is tasked with finding a serial killer on the loose.

As the murders in the area grow increasingly violent, the locals come to believe only one creature could possibly be responsible: a creature of Basque mythology known as the basajaun, or Invisible Guardian. But Amaia is logical--a professional--and she refuses to let local superstitions distract her from her careful detective work. As the investigation deepens, a troubling secret from Amaia's past plagues her with nightmares and soon her findings seem to transform myth into reality. Everything she believes to be rational and verifiable is called into question. Now Amaia must fight her demons and determine if these murders are the work of a ritualistic killer or something even darker.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781501102141
ISBN-10: 1501102141
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication Date: September 19th, 2017
Pages: 384
Language: English