Luckiest Girl Alive (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Luckiest Girl Alive Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
Hard to Find

Staff Reviews


Luckiest Girl Alive is Jessica Knoll's debut and it is a good one, full of secrets that are revealed slowly and carefully. We are introduced to our protagonist,Ani FaNellis as she shops with her fiance, Luke. He's old money, New England rich and Ani is about to enter a life she has imagined she always wanted. She has carefully acquired all the trappings and symbols of wealth and constructed a facade to go with it. Then,things start to crumble and secrets are revealed when Ani is asked to participate in a documentary about an incident that occurred when she was in high school. This book grabbed me from page one. Oh, and Reese Witherspoon has already opted in to produce the movie! 
 
For fans of Megan Abbott and Gillian Flynn. 

— Sally

May 2015 Indie Next List


“Ani FaNelli has worked hard to become the girl who succeeded. She has the right job, the right clothes, the right address, and even Mr. Right. It doesn't matter that it only works on the surface; the appearance is what will protect you when the truth comes out. Knoll has created a distinctly fierce and driven main character whose past is defined by a particularly modern kind of tragedy. The details are slowly revealed as Ani maneuvers her way up through the lingering trauma of this devastating teenage experience. I was caught up in an exciting mixture of suspicion, pity, and admiration for Ani, as Knoll explores whether that which does not kill us might make us stronger, and if the scars can ever fade away.”
— Kerry Spaulding (W), University Book Store, Mill Creek, WA

Description


***AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER***

Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will thrill at "the perfect page-turner to start your summer" (People, Book of the Week): Luckiest Girl Alive--described by Reese Witherspoon as "one of those reads you just can't put down "

"Loved Gone Girl? We promise Luckiest Girl Alive is] just as addictive."
--Good Housekeeping

"Jessica Knoll introduces you to your new best frenemy, and you're going to love it. . . .Destined to become one of the summer's most gripping reads."
--Bustle.com

"With the cunning and verve of Gillian Flynn but an intensity all its own, Luckiest Girl Alive is a debut you won't want to miss."
--Megan Abbott, author of Dare Me and The Fever

"Luckiest Girl Alive is Gone Girl meets Cosmo meets Sex and the City. . . . Knoll hits it out of the park."
--Fort Worth Star-Telegram

HER PERFECT LIFE IS A PERFECT LIE.

As a teenager at the prestigious Bradley School, Ani FaNelli endured a shocking, public humiliation that left her desperate to reinvent herself. Now, with a glamorous job, expensive wardrobe, and handsome blue blood fiance, she's this close to living the perfect life she's worked so hard to achieve.

But Ani has a secret.

There's something else buried in her past that still haunts her, something private and painful that threatens to bubble to the surface and destroy everything.

With a singular voice and twists you won't see coming, Luckiest Girl Alive explores the unbearable pressure that so many women feel to "have it all" and introduces a heroine whose sharp edges and cutthroat ambition have been protecting a scandalous truth, and a heart that's bigger than it first appears.

The question remains: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for--or, will it at long last, set Ani free?

Praise For…


Jessica Knoll, a former Cosmopolitan magazine editor, makes an adroit debut in book publishing with her novel, Luckiest Girl Alive.Ani FaNelli is an editor at a women's magazine in New York City, and engaged to the JFK, Jr.-esque Luke Harrison. Before Ani ties the knot, she agrees to be interviewed for a documentary about the devastating events that occurred while she was a student at an august prep school in Pennsylvania. The tragedy rudely thrust her into the public eye 14 years earlier, and Ani finally wants to set the record straight. In doing so, she could also unravel her seemingly perfect world. Ani may come across as snarky and shallow at first, going to great lengths to curate an enviable life, complete with a glamorous job, aristocratic fiancE and four-carat engagement ring. But as her secrets are revealed, so is her vulnerable side. What happened to her as a teen--and is happening now too often to young people in real life--would destroy the average person, but it fueled Ani to strive for the brass ring. To her, success is the best revenge, and readers will want her to achieve it.Knoll writes with verity about Ani's workplace: "The uglier and trendier [my] outfit, the stronger I emanate intimidating magazine editor." Similes are arguably overused, but many descriptions are incisive and witty, such as a girl's eyes being "so far apart they were practically in her sideburns." Knoll balances the sharp with the sad, creating a protagonist who has pieces of both. COPYRIGHT(2015) Shelf Awareness, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781476789637
ISBN-10: 1476789630
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: May 12th, 2015
Pages: 352
Language: English