The Book of Polly (Large Print / Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Book of Polly Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

The Book of Polly is narrated by Willow, the 10-year-old miracle daughter of Polly. Polly-- in her late 50s when Willow is born-- loves smoking cigarettes, margaritas, and shooting at squirrels in her yard. This delightful book is set in small-town Texas and centers around Willow's intense desire to know more about her aged mom, family, and outrun The Bear-- a disease that's coming for Polly. Polly is as sharp, sarcastic, and full of heart as you'd expect from a great Southern heroine. At turns wacky and touching, this book is perfect for fans of Fannie Flagg. (also highly recommended by John and Sally!)

— Sam


With a kick like the best hot sauce, this is the laugh-out-loud story of a girl determined to keep up with her aging, crazy-as-a-fox mother

"If you ever pined for a mother who would take a hunting falcon as her wingman to a parent-teacher conference, Polly is the gal for you. Delicious." --Mark Childress, author ofCrazy in Alabama

Willow Havens is ten years old and obsessed with the fear that her mother will die. Her mother, Polly, is a cantankerous, take-no-prisoners Southern woman who lives to chase varmints, drink margaritas, and antagonize the neighbors and she sticks out like a sore thumb among the young modern mothers of their small conventional Texas town. She was in her late fifties when Willow was born, so Willow knows she's here by accident, a late-life afterthought. Willow's father died before she was born, her much older brother and sister are long grown and gone and failing elsewhere. It's just her and bigger-than-life Polly.
Willow is desperately hungry for clues to the family life that preceded her, and especially Polly's life pre-Willow. Why did she leave her hometown of Bethel, Louisiana, fifty years ago and vow never to return? Who is Garland Jones, her long-ago suitor who possibly killed a man? And will Polly be able to outrun the Bear, the illness that finally puts her on a collision course with her past?
The Book of Polly has a great blend of humor and sadness, pathos and hilarity. This is a bittersweet novel about the grip of love in a truly quirky family and you ll come to know one of the most unforgettable mother-daughter duos you ve ever met.

About the Author

Kathy Hepinstall grew up in Spring, Texas, near the Louisiana border. Polly is based, in part, on Kathy s own mother, who has as wicked a tongue as her fictional counterpart. Kathy now lives in Portland, Oregon."
Product Details
ISBN: 9781410497765
ISBN-10: 1410497763
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: March 8th, 2017
Pages: 444
Language: English