The Marriage Pact (Large Print / Paperback)

The Marriage Pact Cover Image
$29.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


How far is too far when it comes to protecting your marriage? Find out in this relentlessly paced novel of psychological suspense for anyone who loved The Couple Next Door.

"Ranks with The Stepford Wives and Gone Girl as a terrifying look at what it really means to say 'I do.'"--Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of The Switch

Newlyweds Alice and Jake are a picture-perfect couple. Alice, once a singer in a well-known rock band, is now a successful lawyer. Jake is a partner in an up-and-coming psychology practice. Their life together holds endless possibilities. After receiving an enticing wedding gift from one of Alice's prominent clients, they decide to join an exclusive and mysterious group known only as The Pact.

The goal of The Pact seems simple: to keep marriages happy and intact. And most of its rules make sense. Always answer the phone when your spouse calls. Exchange thoughtful gifts monthly. Plan a trip together once per quarter. . . .

Never mention The Pact to anyone.

Alice and Jake are initially seduced by the glamorous parties, the sense of community, their widening social circle of like-minded couples.

And then one of them breaks the rules.

The young lovers are about to discover that for adherents to The Pact, membership, like marriage, is for life. And The Pact will go to any lengths to enforce that rule.

For Jake and Alice, the marriage of their dreams is about to become their worst nightmare.

Praise for The Marriage Pact

"This fast-paced nail-biter goes in unpredictable directions. . . . It also raises thoughtful questions about individual agency and marital commitment. With strong writing, intriguing characters, and a compelling conceit, this psychological thriller seems destined for the top of summer reading lists. Recommended as a fresh voice for readers of Gillian Flynn or Ruth Ware."--Library Journal (starred review)

"Creepy and engrossing . . . The Marriage Pact takes] readers deep into the heart of a marriage and exposes some of the darker drives, such as possession and control, that can lurk within even the most harmonious of unions."--Booklist

"Gripping, thought-provoking, and irresistible."--Dean Koontz

"Riveting psychological suspense This book will keep you up all night, while making you second-guess everything you know and everyone you've ever loved."--Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Right Behind You

About the Author


Michelle Richmond is the bestselling author of The Year of Fog, No One You Know, Hum: Stories, Golden State, Dream of the Blue Room, and the award-winning The Girl in the Fall-Away Dress. A native of Mobile, Alabama, she lives with her husband and son in San Francisco.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780525501213
ISBN-10: 0525501215
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Random House Large Print Publishing
Publication Date: July 25th, 2017
Pages: 656
Language: English