Backlands: A Novel of the American West (Paperback)

Backlands: A Novel of the American West Cover Image
$17.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


In the New York Times bestselling Hard Country, Michael McGarrity gave readers an expansive, lyrical period Western in the tradition of A. B. Guthrie Jr. and Larry McMurtry (Hampton Sides). Now McGarrity continues his richly authentic epic of life on the last vestiges of the twentieth-century American frontier.
Scarred by the loss of an older brother he idolized, estranged from a father he barely knows, and deeply troubled by the failing health of a mother he adores, young Matthew Kerney is suddenly and irrevocably forced to set aside his childhood and take on responsibilities far beyond his years. When the world spirals into the Great Depression and drought settles like a plague over the nation, Matt must abandon his own dreams to salvage the Kerney ranch. Plunged into a deep trough of dark family secrets, hidden crimes, broken promises, and lies, Matt must struggle to survive on the unforgiving, sun-blasted Tularosa Basin.

About the Author


Michael McGarrity is the New York Times bestselling author of Hard Country, the Anthony Award-Nominated Tularosa and eleven other bestselling Kevin Kerney crime novels. A former deputy sheriff for Santa Fe County, he also served as an instructor at the New Mexico Law Enforcement Academy and as an investigator for the New Mexico Public Defender s Office. He lives in Santa Fe with his wife, Emily Beth."
Product Details
ISBN: 9780451471666
ISBN-10: 0451471660
Publisher: Dutton Books
Publication Date: May 5th, 2015
Pages: 544
Language: English
Series: American West Trilogy