Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City (Hardcover)

Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City Cover Image
$27.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Over the course of one weekend in 1952, a great smog consumed London. In four days, 3000 people had died and in the following weeks another 3000 would follow. The smog was so dense that hearses could not safely pickup bodies. At the same time, a serial killer in a Notting Hill slum was beginning to unravel. Dawson's immensely readable book takes us from the mind of a serial killer and into the halls of Parliament where a great government cover-up is hatched and subsequently destroyed. A great crime book and fascinating portrait of post-WW 2 England. Perfect for fans of Erik Larson! - Sam

— From Sam's Staff Picks

Description


A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing.

London was still recovering from the devastation of World War II when another disaster hit: for five long days in December 1952, a killer smog held the city firmly in its grip and refused to let go. Day became night, mass transit ground to a halt, criminals roamed the streets, and some 12,000 people died from the poisonous air. But in the chaotic aftermath, another killer was stalking the streets, using the fog as a cloak for his crimes.

All across London, women were going missing-poor women, forgotten women. Their disappearances caused little alarm, but each of them had one thing in common: they had the misfortune of meeting a quiet, unassuming man, John Reginald Christie, who invited them back to his decrepit Notting Hill flat during that dark winter. They never left.

The eventual arrest of the "Beast of Rillington Place" caused a media frenzy: were there more bodies buried in the walls, under the floorboards, in the back garden of this house of horrors? Was it the fog that had caused Christie to suddenly snap? And what role had he played in the notorious double murder that had happened in that same apartment building not three years before-a murder for which another, possibly innocent, man was sent to the gallows?

The Great Smog of 1952 remains the deadliest air pollution disaster in world history, and John Reginald Christie is still one of the most unfathomable serial killers of modern times. Journalist Kate Winkler Dawson braids these strands together into a taut, compulsively readable truecrime thriller about a man who changed the fate of the death penalty in the UK, and an environmental catastrophe with implications that still echo today.

About the Author


Kate Winkler Dawson is a seasoned documentary producer, whose work has appeared in The New York Times, WCBS News and ABC News Radio, Fox News Channel, United Press International, PBS NewsHour, and Nightline. She teaches journalism at The University of Texas at Austin.


Coverage from NPR

Product Details
ISBN: 9780316506861
ISBN-10: 0316506869
Publisher: Hachette Books
Publication Date: October 17th, 2017
Pages: 352
Language: English