Pray for Silence: A Kate Burkholder Novel (Paperback)

Pray for Silence: A Kate Burkholder Novel Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

June 2010 Indie Next List


“In this sequel to Sworn to Silence, Police Chief Kate Burkholder is faced with the slaughter of an Amish family of seven. Her search for the killer takes her on a dark journey of discovery and uncovers a disturbing realm of violence and brutality. As before, Castillo keeps the pace quick, the story compelling, and her manner towards the Amish reverent.”
— Katherine Osborne, Kennebooks, Kennebunk, ME

Description


"One family. One horrific murder. An entire town under suspicion "

The Planks moved from Lancaster County Pennsylvania to the small Amish community of Painters Mill, hoping to resume the comforts of the Plain Life in Ohio. Less than one year later, the family of seven is found dead slaughtered on their own farm.

"Shades of In Cold Blood . . . Another chilling thriller." "People "magazine

Police Chief Kate Burkholder and her small force have few clues, no motive, and no suspect. Formerly Amish herself, Kate is no stranger to the secrets the Amish keep from their "English" neighbors and each other. When the diary belonging to the rebellious teenager Mary Plank turns up, Kate is surprised to find not only a kindred spirit but a murder suspect: the charismatic stranger who stole Mary's heart.

"Violent and earthy, and completely impossible to put down." "BookPage "

Then there's Mary's brother, Aaron. Shunned by his family and the rest of the Amish community, could he have returned to seek revenge? Now it's up to Kate to search for some dark truths about the Planks and confront long-buried secrets of her own. As Kate's obsession with the case grows so does her resolve to bring the killer to justice even if it means putting herself into the line of fire . . .

"Will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter and Tami Hoag." "Library Journal.

About the Author


Linda Castillo is the New York Times bestselling author of the Kate Burkholder novels, including Sworn to Silence and Breaking Silence, crime thrillers set in Amish country. She is the recipient of awards including the Daphne du Maurier Award of Excellence, the Holt Medallion and a nomination for the RITA. Besides writing, Castillo's other passion is horses, particularly her Appaloosa, George. She lives in Texas with her husband.

Praise For…


"Though the violence level is high, the brutality is offset by Kate’s and her team’s very capable police procedure and investigation. Another solid effort that will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter and Tami Hoag.”—Library Journal

“Another knock-out job. I love this series.”—Alex Kava

“Castillo excels at detailing gory crimes scenes.”—Publishers Weekly

“[The] unique setting and a very human heroine make this a good recommendation for readers seeking an alternative to the urban whodunit.”—Booklist

“The second book in Castillo’s series is . . . as well crafted, interesting and unique as the first. The combination of Amish life and the brutal work of a police chief create plenty of tension and excitement.”—Romantic Times (Top Pick, 4 1/2 stars)

“With a serial killer and now a mass murder in tiny Painters Mill, Castillo will need to be inventive to maintain the plausibility in this addictive series. Fortunately, she seems up to the task.”—Akron Beacon Journal

“Castillo keeps the pace quick, the story compelling, and her manner towards the Amish reverent.”—Katherine Osborne, Indiebound

Product Details
ISBN: 9780312540036
ISBN-10: 0312540035
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: April 26th, 2011
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: Kate Burkholder Novels