We Have Always Lived in the Castle (Penguin Orange Collection) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
We Have Always Lived in the Castle (Penguin Orange Collection) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

Best known for her short story, “The
Lottery,” Jackson’s novels are undergoing a resurgence with
support from the likes of Charlaine Harris. We Have Always Lived
in the Castle
is a personal favorite from this queen of spooky,
domestic macabre. Merricat, Constance, and Julian Blackwood live a
happy but isolated life after the rest of their family consumes laced
sugar… happy, that is, until cousin Charles shows up and throws a
spanner in the works... 

— Mary


Part of the Penguin Orange Collection, a limited-run series of twelve influential and beloved American classics in a bold series design offering a modern take on the iconic Penguin paperback

Winner of the 2016 AIGA + Design Observer 50 Books - 50 Covers competition

For the seventieth anniversary of Penguin Classics, the Penguin Orange Collection celebrates the heritage of Penguin's iconic book design with twelve influential American literary classics representing the breadth and diversity of the Penguin Classics library. These collectible editions are dressed in the iconic orange and white tri-band cover design, first created in 1935, while french flaps, high-quality paper, and striking cover illustrations provide the cutting-edge design treatment that is the signature of Penguin Classics Deluxe Editions today.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle

Taking readers deep into a labyrinth of dark neurosis, We Have Always Lived in the Castle is perhaps the crowning achievement of Shirley Jackson's brilliant career: a deliciously unsettling novel about a perverse, isolated, and possibly murderous family and the dramatic struggle that ensues when an unexpected visitor interrupts their unusual way of life.

About the Author

Shirley Jackson (1916-1965) received wide critical acclaim for her short story "The Lottery," which was first published in the New Yorker in 1948. Her works available from Penguin Classics include We Have Always Lived in the Castle, The Haunting of Hill House, Come Along with Me, Hangsaman, The Bird's Nest, and The Sundial, as well as Life Among the Savages and Raising Demons available from Penguin Books.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143129547
ISBN-10: 0143129546
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: October 18th, 2016
Pages: 160
Language: English
Series: Penguin Orange Collection