Death Zones (Paperback)

Death Zones Cover Image
By Simon Pasternak, Martin Aitken (Translator)
$15.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Belorussia, July 1943. As the Battle of Kursk rages to the east and the tide turns against the Nazi offensive, large swathes of White Russia are declared death zones--and a terrifying onslaught is unleashed on the civilian population. German detective Oberleutnant Heinrich Hoffmann, posted to the brutal fringes of a crumbling Reich, is struggling to keep his focus, as his thoughts stray to Eline back in Hamburg. But when a visiting General and his wife are found murdered and mutilated, Heinrich is charged with finding the culprit, at whatever cost. His only witness: a six-year-old local girl. In the man hunt that follows, Heinrich struggles to retain his humanity in the face of shifting loyalties, violence, and deadly SS politics, in the wild bloodlands between Berlin and Moscow. Winner of the Danish Crime Book Award, this sophisticated historical crime novel will appeal to readers of Robert Harris and Philip Kerr.

About the Author


Simon Pasternak is the co-author of a bestselling Danish crime series with Christian Dorph, and has co-written two feature films including the historical thriller, The Idealist. Martin Aitken is the acclaimed translator of numerous novels from Danish, including works by Peter Hoeg and Jussi Adler-Olsen. In 2012 he was awarded the American-Scandinavian Foundation's Nadia Christensen Translation Prize.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780099593195
ISBN-10: 009959319X
Publisher: Random House UK
Publication Date: August 1st, 2017
Pages: 336
Language: English