The Vanishing Island (Hardcover)

The Vanishing Island Cover Image
By Barry Wolverton, Dave Stevenson (Illustrator)
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic--this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized new book from acclaimed author Barry Wolverton, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.

It's 1599, the Age of Discovery in Europe. But for Bren Owen, growing up in the small town of Map on the coast of Britannia has meant anything but adventure. Enticed by the tales sailors have brought through Map's port, and inspired by the arcane maps his father creates as a cartographer for the cruel and charismatic map mogul named Rand McNally, Bren is convinced that fame and fortune await him elsewhere.

That's when Bren meets a dying sailor, who gives him a strange gift that hides a hidden message. Cracking the code could lead Bren to a fabled lost treasure that could change his life forever, and that of his widowed father. Before long, Bren is in greater danger than he ever imagined and will need the help of an unusual friend named Mouse to survive.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062221902
ISBN-10: 0062221906
Publisher: Walden Pond Press
Publication Date: September 1st, 2015
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: Chronicles of the Black Tulip